A Cure

There’s an uprising of an epidemic here on planet earth, and the efforts to cure our population and suppress the sickness have weakened into thin slivers of hopelessness. People’s brains are practically exploding with the oppression of this disease, and trust me when I say, it is passed down generations willingly. Yes I know, a sickness that can be controlled by sheer willpower should definitely have been vanquished by now! Regrettably, I am ashamed to say that it is not gone yet, and that I too am guilty of widening this wretched affliction.

Idiocy, denseness, fatuity, there are many different identifications for this condition, but I prefer to call it by it’s most honest and true name – ignorance.


ignorance
ˈɪɡn(ə)r(ə)ns/
noun
  1. lack of knowledge or information.
    “he acted in ignorance of basic procedures”

Ignorance is not a state of straight-up stupidity, but rather the lack of something- the lack of awareness.

I have succumbed to this sickness a countless number of times, ranging from shouting the words, ‘A Hindu temple!’ to forgetting that it’s best not to stick a fork in the toaster (I’m sharing some extremely embarrassing and private facts here, so please don’t laugh).

Almost every time three or four words pour out of my mouth I turn red from the unease that sets in, and I often find myself wincing in anticipation of more criticism of my inaccuracy and stupidity whenever I speak. It really isn’t that fun to be on edge during a casual factual conversation, trying to figure out what the heck these people are talking to me about.

My solution and my cure to this ignorance is to learn willingly. Knowledge is the opposite of ignorance, so the answer really, is to gather more knowledge, and to gather it willingly. Then, like a knight retrieving his jewels for the king, I will bring my newfound knowledge here, to this stronghold, to this palace, to my oddity of an odyssey.

Oh, and happy new year.

2 thoughts on “A Cure

Leave a comment